DCCPTA High School Scholarship Application

The Duval County Council of PTAs is pleased to offer six (6) $500 scholarships to students graduating from Duval County schools in 2020.  This is a one-time (non-renewable) award of $500.

The scholarships are available to Duval County high school students who are members of their PTA/PTSAs or the Sunshine State PTA.  Student’s full-time enrollment for 2020-2021 must be at an accredited postsecondary institution.  See https://ope.ed.gov/accreditation for the Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs.  Applications must be postmarked by March 31, 2020. 

We look forward to reviewing the applications.  For more information, contact Scholarship@dccpta.org.

2019-2020 DCCPTA Scholarship Application (PDF)

2019-2020 DCCPTA Scholarship Application (Word)

Florida PTA also offers multiple scholarships of $2000.  For more information on how to apply for a Florida PTA scholarship visit  FloridaPTA

Proposed Resolution from the Duval County Council PTA

Proposed Resolution from the Duval County Council PTA

Dear Local Units,

Your DCC PTA Board voted to present local units with the following Resolution On Arming Teachers. We are fulfilling our mission as a child advocacy organization and need your help. Please review the resolution with your general membership and hold a vote. We will then do the same at our April General Meeting (4/24) where you can let your local unit’s voice be heard. If the resolution passes, it will be presented to the DCPS School Board at their May meeting. Please contact us with any questions.

Melissa Daniel, DCC PTA



Whereas the Student Code of Conduct prohibits weapons on school property and teachers should set the example, and

Whereas teachers are not trained to be law enforcement officers and do not have the time or resources to obtain proper training, and

Whereas it would be extremely difficult for law enforcement officers to determine who was legally armed during a crisis, and

Whereas the responsibility of teachers should be to protect those students in their classrooms, not to get involved in a shooting incident, and

Whereas the Duval County School Board does not favor arming school personnel, and

Whereas the Sheriff of Duval County does not favor arming school personnel, and

Whereas the Mayor of Duval County does not favor arming school personnel, and

Whereas the Governor of Florida does not favor arming school personnel, and

Whereas other security measures such as keeping exterior building doors locked and keeping classroom doors locked while classes are in session should be implemented, and

Whereas teachers carrying guns could be overpowered by a student or a group of students, and the weapons could fall into the wrong hands, be it therefore..

Resolved that the Duval County Council of PTAs supports the employment of armed School Resource Officers (SROs) as the only armed personnel to aid in the safety of our students.

Florida State Reflections 2018 winners announced!

Congratulations to the 26 students from Duval County who won an award from the State PTA.  Only one student in each age/art category wins an Award of Excellence throughout the entire state.  Only six students win an Award of Merit from each age/art category.  We are so proud to be well-represented by the talented students of Duval County!

Awards of Excellence:

Dance Choreography – Benjamin Peralta – Douglas Anderson Ptsa

Literature – Nicolle Alexandra Bahamon – Julia Landon College Prep PTSA

Photography – Elsa Kang – Douglas Anderson SOTA

Photography – Ava MacDowell – Hendricks Ave Elementary

Visual Arts – Cory Kreisel – Douglas Anderson SOTA


Awards of Merit:

Dance Choreography

Matthew Sommers – Douglas Anderson
Sydney Connor – Douglas Anderson
Isabella Gantt – Pine Forest Elementary

Film Production
Ashley Kramer – Douglas Anderson
Brady Bunker – Stanton
Luke Glocker – Jacksonville Beach Elementary

Annelisa O’Neal – Stanton
Hanhah Overfield – Douglas Anderson
Emma Lee – Hendricks Avenue Elementary
Saniya Kylkarni – James Weldon Johnson
Kashvi Arunprakash – Jacksonville Beach Elementary

Music Composition
Courtney Dantzler – Stanton
Katherine Chase – Jacksonville Beach Elementary

Darvin Nelson – Douglas Anderson
Ava Touchton – Jacksonville Beach Elementary
Jackson Sellers – Kirby Smith Middle
Luke Glocker- Jacksonville Beach Elementary

Visual Arts
Kelsey Kiernan – Hendricks Avenue Elementary
Sarah Samrout – Kernan Middle
Ryne Newman – New Berlin Elementary
Savannah Hawkins – Alimacani Elementary

Duval County Council of PTAs Slate of Officers for 2018-2019

The Slate of Officers for the 2018/2019 School Year is:

President-Felita Tutt
1st VP – Theresa Rodgers
2nd VP – Cathy Guiler
3rd VP – Anna Maria Charles
Recording Secretary – Jimminda Thompson
Corresponding Secretary – Priscilla Maass
Treasurer – Kathy Klein

2017-2018 Duval County Reflection Winners Announced

Congratulations to the winners of the Duval County Council’s Reflections program!  Awards of Excellence will continue on to compete at the State level.  Winners of both Awards of Excellence and Awards of Merit will be celebrated at the County Reflections Award Ceremony on April 13, 2018 at Atlantic Coast High School.

To see a complete list of winners click here:   County Winners Announced 2018

January 30th Lunch & Learn- Human Trafficking

DCCPTA will present a Lunch & Learn on human trafficking following our General Meeting on Tuesday, January 30th at 11:30 a.m. in the Cline Auditorium.  

Human trafficking happens close to home…Florida continues to be 3rd in the nation in calls to the National Human Trafficking Hotline.  According to a study of U.S. Department of Justice the average age that a trafficked victim is first used for commercial sex is 12-14.  Children are particularly vulnerable to human traffickers.  Please join us to learn more about this important human rights issue.

Please RSVP if you plan on joining us.  Lunch will be provided based on RSVPs.

Please select a valid form

Fall Leadership Workshop

DCCPTA invites all PTA members to join us for our  Fall Leadership Training Workshops


Date:            SATURDAY, October 21, 2017

Time:            8:30 am   Registration begins
                        9:00 am – 12:00 pm   Workshops

     Eugene Butler Leadership Academy
                         900 Acorn Street
                         Jacksonville, 32209


View the Fall Leadership Workshop schedule:  Fall Workshop 2017

PLEASE REGISTER so that our organizers can plan appropriately!


2017 DCCPTA Senior Scholarship Winners

Here are the 5 winners of the 2017 DCCPTA Senior Scholarship $500 scholarships.

1. Lacey Radloff – Sandalwood High School

2. Jose Malavet – Atlantic Coast High School

3. Logan Franks – Stanton High School

4. Anna Huynh – Stanton High School

5. Margaret Miller – Stanton High School